Scrapbook #2 – Eyes

January 30, 2009

Few features are as revealing as the eyes.  Thoughts, emotions, and even deceit can be read through them.  Some have gone so far as to say that “Eyes are the windows to the soul.”  Whatever else they are, eyes make for fascinating photography.

Scrapbook assignment #2 tasks us with finding a picture in which the eyes are the focus of the image.  Unable to narrow my selection to a single picture, I chose three.  The first was found online through a google search, the other two are from my own wedding.

Eyes #1  –  A boy I’ve never met or heard of, but who has certainly been graced with extraordinary eyes.  Aside from their unusual color and slightly large size (for his age) this childs eyes attract the focus of the whole image.  He appears inquisitive, and happy – as though he could burst into smile at any moment.  Not bad considering the cold temperatures his hood implies!

random-kid-eyes

Eyes # 2  –  My newphew Troy, nearly two now, is also blessed with incredible eyes.  They perfectly match his happy nature.  Since his birth I have seen him cry only a handful of times, while smiles and laughter are nearly guarenteed at the slightest provocation.  It is amusing, then, they he was caught here in a deadpan stare lacking emotion of any kind.  His eyes pull the viewer in, though.  They are slightly lighter than the blue paciphier he has, and are noticebly more stark than any of the other colors in the picture.troy-eyes

Eyes #3 – Without a doubt, the MOST amazing eyes in my family belong to my Grandfather.  A retired 2-star general, father of 4 and grandfather of 8, his eyes have always had the unique ability to be either intensly cold or incredibly jovial.  I believe this picture from my wedding shows the latter.  It reminds me of an even more amazing picture from HIS wedding.  Despite being in black and white, my Grandfather’s eyes radiate and stand out, even in that busy photograph they are the first thing you notice.  But that I had that picture…

Still, I love this picture.  My Grandfather is caught in a look of emotional joy, and seeing this picture always makes me happy.

grandpa-eyes

Leave a Reply

